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Shopify Conversion Rates: A Beginner’s Guide (2024)

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Aleksandra -
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Chief of Content Marketing
Aleksandra teaches marketing and management at various levels in High School. She writes about marketing, the economics and logistics of the dropshipping business and ecommerce in general.
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Chief of Content Marketing
15 minutes

Turning as many page viewers as possible into loyal paying customers is the goal of any Shopify store owner. Is this wish so hard to become a reality? Well, with the average Shopify conversion rates of Ecommerce sites hardly reaching 2%, it seems a hopeless struggle. 

Everything said it’s not all doom and gloom for entrepreneurs. Also, if you’re looking for productive ways to amplify sales, then this guide is for you.

In this article, I’ll dive into effective practices to drive your Shopify conversions, such as providing flawless navigation, optimizing for mobile devices, writing catchy product descriptions, adding excellent visuals, simplifying checkout flow, and more.

Some tips store teams can implement by themselves, while, in other cases, they might need to turn to experts for high-quality Shopify Development Services.

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Considering Conversion Rates for a Shopify Website

Simply put, conversions imply the percentage of the total website visitors purchasing something from your online store within a certain period. Hence, this figure differs depending on a business niche, the store’s UX, products sold, prices, customer groups, and even the time of the year.

Plus, monitoring your Shopify conversion rates is worthwhile and pretty effortless, by the way. All you need is to access the Shopify admin, choose dashboard Reports in the Analytics section, select the necessary parameters (Sales, Visitors, Payments, Customers, etc.), and start examining the information.

Through these reports, you can get useful information on visitors’ activities, customer behavior, the quantities of goods sold over a fixed interval, channels driving the most traffic and sales, and more. Moreover, by analyzing these metrics, merchants realize whether their marketing and advertising efforts pay off.

Also, Shopify’s conversion rate tracking helps you identify areas for improvement in your online stores. Thus, using this data, you can take practical steps to boost sales and revenue, like honing marketing strategies, refining calls to action, tweaking some minor elements of the online shop, or enhancing its overall UX/UI design.

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How To Calculate Shopify Conversion Rates?

If you want to calculate your conversion rates, here’s my simple guide on how I do that.

First, take a look at how many people have visited your website over a period of time. You can use tools like Google Analytics to keep tabs on your site traffic. Include everyone who visited, whether or not they bought anything.

Then, keep track of the total number of completed sales during a specific time. You can find this number in your Sales report in the Shopify admin.

Lastly, figure out the conversion rate using this formula: CONVERSION RATE = (TOTAL CONVERSIONS / TOTAL VISITORS) X 100

For instance, if your website had 1,000 visitors and 30 of them made a purchase, your conversion rate would be (30 / 1,000) x 100 = 3%.

💡 TIP: Make sure you stick to the same time frame when you analyze the data. If you’re calculating the conversion rate for a particular month, make sure both the number of visitors and conversions are for that same month.

How To Increase Shopify Conversions?

As stated earlier, keeping track of your Shopify conversion rates is essential to avoid missing out on weak points and take actionable measures timely.

What can you actually do to see high sales figures in the online store? 

Try embracing Shopify conversion rate optimization strategies for a start. Hence, these tactics engage more visitors in exploring products and making a purchase in the end.

Therefore, let’s look at some proven solutions to help your business’s revenue skyrocket.

💡 Tip: Check out the 15 Ways to Double Your Dropshipping Conversion Rate.

1. Prioritize Simple Navigation

When shoppers get acquainted with a store, they tend to be more critical of its design and layout. Therefore, creating a good first impression of your website is demanding

So, once visitors land on your site, think of the best path for them and your business. Simplicity is the key. 

For example, let’s look at Manitobah Mukluks’ homepage. It’s clear that the store sells footwear from the first seconds. Also, the vivid CTA button immediately catches people’s attention and encourages them to view items.

Furthermore, the header (the upper area of the page) is well-organized. It displays the company’s clickable logo in the top left corner, a search box, and the links to the account and shopping cart on the top right. All the main categories for easy product discovery are placed in between. 

Prospects don’t feel overwhelmed by the number of actions they need to do. Such an intuitive layout captivates at once and gently guides visitors to view the items.

manitobah website hero section

Screenshot taken from Manitobah Mukluks official website

2. Include a Mega Menu for Organizing Information

Your website’s navigational flow should be as straightforward as possible. If too many options exist in the header, visitors may get confused and simply drop off. 

Customers want simplicity and fast response. So, if you want to increase your Shopify conversion rates, better keep it that way!

So, having a lot of products and collections is great, but you cannot swamp them all in your homepage navigation. 

Therefore, consider using a mega menu to create categories and sub-categories.

This type of menu offers easy exploration of goods and services without overloading visitors with too many options from the jump.

Take Macguire Shoes as an example. It showcases 5 major sections: Footwear, Accessories, Fit & Style, About Us, and Archive Sale.

Also, after hovering over each of them, potential customers can see and access other website pages. Besides the textual content, the mega menu contains images, which makes the overall design more appealing.

maguire website homepage
footware magire website categories

Screenshots taken from Macguire Shoes official website

💡 Pro tip: Apply breadcrumb navigation wherever possible. It helps customers orient themselves at any point. Choose clear and familiar words when labeling sections. Visitors appreciate precise directions.

3. Create Visually Appealing Product Pages

Consider images as a means of interaction with your customers. Visitors cannot touch products during online shopping. However, high-quality photos may create a feeling of physical presence. 

When presenting an item, try to highlight its prominent features. Thus, take snaps from different angles to give shoppers a 360-degree view of a product. Add a video or 3D model for a detailed visual experience if possible.

shopify product page description

Screenshot taken from Suta official website

4. Write Concise Descriptions

As well as photos, words can go a long way in converting visitors into buyers. Plus, it plays a crucial role in increasing Shopify conversion rates.

So, don’t bother to write lengthy love letters about every product. Make a copy brief, yet highlight all the necessary features and unique qualities of an item.

There are plenty of helpful tips on how to make catchy descriptions. Let’s focus on some of them:

  • Target your perfect buyer (avoid addressing everyone, picture your ideal audience, and start having a conversation with them);
  • Draw attention to benefits (write about specific features of a product and how they address your shoppers’ pain points);
  • Support superlatives with evidence (prove to your readers why the product is the best, the world’s lightest, or the most advanced);
  • Appeal to imagination (create copies that conjure up lifelike situations in the audience’s mind);
  • Use sensory adjectives (power words like “crunchy,” “soft,” “smooth,” or “crisp” light up various brain areas and top up to a complete mental image of a product).

Take a look at how the skincare brand Then I Met You skillfully describes its product.

“Inspired by the signature scent of the cult-favorite Living Cleansing Balm, this chic hand wash infuses your skin with aromas of eucalyptus and rosemary to awaken the senses, while notes of sweet orange and grapefruit calm and center the mind.

Add a sense of ritual and sheer luxury with every turn of the taps.

The gentle and moisturizing formula nourishes the skin with antioxidant and essential fatty acid rich ingredients, and vitamin E to cleanse thoroughly without drying, leaving skin refreshed, soft, and subtly fragranced.”

shopify conversion rates

Screenshot taken from Then I Met You official website 

5. Encourage Customer Reviews 

Want to increase your Shopify conversion rates? Well, this one is important!

Customer reviews are insightful information that enables you to connect with your clients, promote trust, and create a positive brand image. Shoppers pay close attention to what others say when deciding on a purchase.

Instead of asking each consumer to give feedback or manually sending notifications, companies can automate the whole process with special apps, such as Shopify’s Product Reviews, Judge.me, or Loox, that easily link to the CRM software. With these tools, you can enhance customer satisfaction and brand loyalty.

Take the time to claim your business on third-party sites like Google, Yelp, or Facebook. This will boost your online presence, attract more visitors, and promote social proof.  

globein pop up and reviews on website

Screenshot taken from GlobeIn official website

6. Avoid Intrusive Pop-ups

Pop-ups can be an excellent tool to communicate with your audience unless they’re too pushy. Think of the message and the timing. 

The text should contain one action to fulfill. Use trigger words like discount, now, free, get, and buy to prompt visitors to take action.

CTA buttons have the power to convert more visitors as well. Experiment with eye-catching colors and big letters, and choose first and second-person terms to facilitate conversation with potential customers.

Perfect timing is essential for pop-ups. Avoid using entry or welcome types, people get irritated by them. By analyzing visitor’s behavior, Shopify merchants can customize pop-ups to minimize dropouts.

Well-crafted exit intent pop-ups with a clear incentive can draw attention and convert leaving customers. Shopify Popup Maker allows you to try out various designs and choose the one that works for your business.

shopify conversion rates

Screenshot taken from M.M.LaFleur official website

7. Stick to Clear Pricing

Transparent pricing is critical for online shoppers and for you if you tend to increase Shopify conversion rates.

Hence, customers want to know the total cost of the product, including taxes and shipping fees, as early on in the purchase as possible. By being honest about pricing, you show that you value customers. This immensely contributes to client retention and reduces cart abandonment.

A clear return and shipping policy reduces any unnecessary surprises. When shipping internationally, explain to customers who pays the duties and who pays the taxes. Don’t forget to leave contact information in case a shopper needs to get in touch.

For instance, the Shopify store Adored Vintage helps to calculate approximate shipping costs once the item is added to the cart. It also notifies customers that the final shipping and tax expenses will be calculated at checkout. 

Adored Vintage shipping checkout

Screenshot taken from Adored Vintage official website

👉 Learn How To Price Dropshipping Products: A Guide For Beginners.

8. Ensure Smooth Checkout Process

Your potential buyers will likely drop off if the checkout process is too long. Thus, nobody wants to waste time on filling out multiple forms. Instead, enable shoppers to complete their purchases with a single-page checkout. 

One-page checkout is fast and convenient. Also, customers can quickly go through the information and finalize their purchases.

What’s more, realizing that Shopify has recently switched from multipage to a one-page checkout flow. So, it’s clear what tends to increase Shopify conversion rates.

Merchants of Basic, Shopify, Advanced, and Plus plans have a one-page design by default. They can also use extension apps (third-party applications) to add more functionality, such as customized discounts, shipping rules, and custom payment options.

As for payment methods, online shoppers appreciate it when they have a choice. By including various payment types, you will improve customer experience, boost conversions, decrease abandoned carts, and attract more potential clients.

shopify conversion rates

Screenshot taken from Cocofloss official website

👉 Discover the Top 11 Shopify Checkout Apps: How to Optimize Your Checkout Page.

9. Offer Guest Checkout 

Not all website visitors easily accept the idea of creating an account while shopping online. Guest checkout is the right solution in this case. Fill in only the required information, and you’re good to go. 

By providing such an alternative, you can build trust with first-time buyers, reduce cart abandonment, and enhance the general user experience. For instance, Lego gives new customers a chance to either register or continue their checkout process as guests.

lego checkout page

Screenshot taken from Lego official website

10. Put Effort into ‘About Us Page’ 

How do you reassure shoppers that your dropshipping business is legit? Invest time in setting up the “About Us” page. It’s a perfect place where visitors can learn more about the brand behind the products. Here are a few tips on how merchants can effectively introduce themselves to customers:

  • Share a unique story. When telling visitors how your business started, avoid being generic. Include personal details so customers can relate to your brand;
  • Describe the value of a product/service. Simply highlighting the benefits isn’t enough. Be more specific and explain to shoppers how your product or service addresses their pain points;
  • Define how the business functions. Enlighten customers as to how your company operates. Pay attention to the nuances that help the online store stand out in a crowd of competitors;
  • Feature the team. Open the veil and show the people who drive your business. Sharing photos of real people is an excellent way to build customer trust.
shopify conversion rates

Screenshot taken from Burton official website

11. Optimize for a Mobile-Friendly Interface

More and more people use smartphones for online shopping, which means having a mobile-responsive website is a must for online retailers. Even though every Shopify theme automatically adapts to any device, there are a few things merchants can do to improve mobile visitors’ shopping experience.

  1. Improve mobile page speed by selecting fast Shopify themes, compressing and resizing images, and hosting videos externally. 
  1. Opt for a sticky navigation bar to keep vital information in view and simplify a user flow through a website.
  1. Cut down on the amount of text on product pages. Your copy should have the following information – product name, pricing, other options, and CTA button.
  1. Adjust images and fonts for mobile screens. Check how visuals are cropped and sized. Make sure they appear well on smartphones. Choose larger font sizes for better readability.
  1. Avoid using pop-ups since they take up almost the entire screen space. Besides, it can be a real challenge to close them.

Check out the mobile-friendly Shopify store Biko. The jewelry brand focuses on a straightforward design with high-quality photos and concise copies. The navigation bar at the top includes a drop-down menu, search box, and shopping cart.

Smartphone users don’t feel overwhelmed by the content and can easily find what they want.  

shopify conversion rates

Screenshot taken from Biko official website

12. A/B Testing to Increase Conversion Rate on Shopify

The next thing that can also help you increase Shopify conversion rates is the A/B testing.

A/B testing, a. k. a. split testing, or bucket testing, refers to the practice of creating several versions of a page or element on a website and demonstrating them to different groups of people simultaneously. Hence, the main goal is to determine which variant performs better.

Therefore, choose only one element at a time to run an A/B test. In addition, it can be headlines, product descriptions, images, calls to action, layout, or navigation. Also, you can smoothly do an A/B test on Shopify using Optimizely, Google Optimize, or VWO apps.

Moreover, you can increase your conversions by regularly checking and improving different parameters.

Here’s an example.

Imagine a company has a webpage with a “Sign Up” button, and they want to determine if changing the color of the button affects the click-through rate.

In the A/B test:

  • Control Group (A): The original webpage with the current button color (let’s say it’s green).
  • Variation Group (B): A modified version of the webpage with a different button color (let’s say it’s blue).

Now, the company randomly divides its website visitors into two groups, with one group seeing the original green button (Control Group A) and the other group seeing the modified blue button (Variation Group B).

Thus, over a specified period, the company collects data on the number of clicks on each button:

  • Control Group A: 5,000 visitors, 300 clicks on the green button (6% click-through rate).
  • Variation Group B: 5,000 visitors, 350 clicks on the blue button (7% click-through rate).

Based on this data, the company can analyze the results. In this hypothetical scenario, the variation group with the blue button color (Group B) had a slightly higher click-through rate compared to the control group with the green button (Group A).

So, the company can then conclude that changing the button color to blue may have a positive impact on the click-through rate.

As you can see, A/B testing helps you make data-driven decisions by comparing the performance of different variations and choosing the one that performs better in achieving the desired goal.

Conclusion

With a highly competitive market, online vendors are always on the lookout for productive ways to stay on top. This guide covered 12 tested and tried Shopify conversion rates optimization tips for increasing sales. 

Easy navigational flow, mega menus, clear product descriptions and images, and a seamless checkout process add value to your website and increase customer loyalty.

Last, but not least, think about mobile users and constantly run A/B tests of various elements of your online store to spot areas for improvement.

About the Author

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Aleksandra Miteva
Aleksandra teaches marketing and management at various levels in High School. She writes about marketing, the economics and logistics of the dropshipping business and ecommerce in general.
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